What might happen to my body after my death?

I was really amused reading the question (If God doesn’t exist, what will happen after you die?) because I was thinking, “How would God’s existence or absence influence what happens after you die?”

Anyway, the first thing that would happen after my death is my consciousness would come to an end forever.

Another thing that would happen is that my name, my personality would all die with me. As soon as I die, I would become a “body” or a “corpse” (laas, shav in Nepali).

Then I would be cremated. My body would turn to ashes in hours. People would think I have rested in the sky. If I had decided to donate my organs after my death, my organs would be saving someone. If my body goes for donation to a medical institute, my “body” (body is what they would call) would be studied.

If I met death horribly, for example, sunk down into a lake or swamp, my body parts will decay therein or become fossilized. If I drown into a river, my body might be swept downstream, discovered horribly swollen, or may never be found, dismembered and fed off by fishes and even water itself. Still some of my body parts would be fossilized.

If my death occurs by being crushed over by a building or a rock or a mountain of a vehicle, my body parts might scattered here and there. It would never be donated but could be cremated, if lucky or would be fossilized.

It got too gory even for my own taste. Maybe you believe that God will take you or your soul will get to heaven (or may go to hell or remain in purgatory.) I can’t be as sure about that. I have never seen God do that yet except in some movies.

Originally posted as an answer on Quora.

7 thoughts on “What might happen to my body after my death?

  1. Lot of “might” happens here. Answer me some questions, please. Are you more than a body? If you are not, how much of your body is you? Would you still be you if you were to lose two arms and two legs in one of those accidents you describe? Or is your heart you? or is your brain you? If it is your heart, who would you be if your heart is transplanted into someone else’s body? Same question for the brain? If you are consciousness instead of body, where did it come from? You were amused at a question in your beginning paragraph. Do these amuse you? I muse about these questions, but I am not amused at them. I muse, I wonder, I think,but I don’t know. But faith in a God who gives me eternal life is so much easier to understand than to settle for your seemingly sure, settled answers. I’m not intending to offend you, but I truly would like to know how a person thinks who looks at death in the way you do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the questions, Oneta. I will try answering your questions based on my observations​ and opinions.

      1. Who am I?

      This is a question that I am been searching for some time. From the philosophies I have studied and from my own opinions, I have come to believe that my existence is a combination of my body and the consciousness​. However, I put consciousness higher than the body because consciousness is something that makes life possible. I will be alive as long as the consciousness resides in me. I will be alive in the absence of limbs. Survival will be difficult but I will be alive.

      The feeling of “self” comes with consciousness but we don’t realize it before our mind starts thinking about it. The feelings of “Me”, ” my”, “mine” “they”, “their” all come into existence as our minds start comprehending the environment as such. So, I am what my mind thinks I am influenced by my environment. My name, my thoughts, my religion, and so on are the products of environment I grew up with.

      About heart transplant that you ask. Well, the transplantation will take after my death, that is after the consciousness has left the body. The heart would be a vital organ that could give someone a longer life. The person would never be me because they have the heart that regulated blood circulation in my body once. They will be their self. Each one of us is unique.

      2. Where does consciousness come from?

      In the Bhagvad Geeta, Lord Krishna says that it is from Him that consciousness originates. In other words, consciousness comes from God. This has also been interpreted as God is the Greater Consciousness. The consciousness that resides in me and will leave at my death is a part of the Greater Consciousness.

      3. About Afterlife

      Being raised in a Hindu Brahmin family, I have been brought up with the stories of heaven and hell–good people go to heaven and bad people go to hell, both of which were beyond the sky. As I grew up, my parents presented a different perspective to it. Heaven and hell both exist in this world and in this life. Good people live in heaven, bad people live in hell. Sometimes I used to think why some bad people are rich and why good people are poor. It took me some time to understand that heaven did not mean riches, but love and care. And what a soothing revelation that was.

      Since then I have stopped caring about what will happen after I die. About things I won’t know. I won’t feel after the death. I will not know anything that will be done to my body. All I know that it will exist in one form or the other.

      I also believe that my life is precious. It might be microscopic in the face of the universe, but I must have come here for a reason. As long as I live, I wish to look and learn about life.

      Like

  2. Sandeep252, thanks for your clearly presented answers. I did not realize so much was in common between Christianity and Hinduism. I cannot accept Heaven and Hell as being on earth although some people seem to have a heaven-like life and others a hell-like life, but that does not correlate with their goodness or badness as I understand good and bad. I guess we use the term life in a similar way. What you call consciousness, I would probably call my soul. You are taught that it comes from Lord Krishna, I believe it comes from the Supreme and Only God and that it will never end. I also believe we are here for a reason. I am very thankful that I am still doing what I believe I was created for – even at eighty-two years old. Right now I do not think it is coincidence that we are interacting. I believe it is part of my purpose.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There are different interpretations of the Bhagvad Geeta, most of which present Lord Krishna as the God but the Bhagvad Geeta is the song of the God. So when I just went through the slokas, I noticed that Lord Krishna never says he is the God but he sings the glory of the God as the Great Consciousness that resides from microbes to the multiple universes (These concepts are really well explained in the early part of the Bhagvad Geeta). Hindus seem to believe a number of gods but all of them are said to be different forms of the One God, the Parameshwor or the Paramatma.

      However, the major difference between Christianity and Hinduism is in their belief systems. Christianity is a rigid and the Bible is not open to different interpretations. Hinduism has however incorporated different belief systems (monotheism, polytheism, animism, shamanism, even atheism) and the Hindu texts are open to interpretations (you must have realized that in the paragraph above.)

      I am also thankful to God that we both are learning something about the world we live in from each other.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. And it has opened the chance for me to know in a more personal way a person from the Hindu faith. I’m sure we will have other bits about which to consult each other. If you read any of my posts be sure to leave me a like (even if you don’t agree) so I will know you have been there 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

