Translation Fun

When we want some words, phrases and sentences translated, Google Translate is a useful tool. I had discovered its virtues while I was learning French last year and had tried to understand some German sentences a little earlier. It had helped me clear some doubts on the initial stages of French-studies.

image

Source : http://www.beka-cookware.com

In Nepal, we often use a diuri to prepare tea, to boil water milk, pulse, and so on. A diuri (दिउरी) is a utensil with its height little less than its diameter and a single handle. I was writing a story in English and it was essential to include the utensil in the plot. So, I went to the Google Translate website and typed in the Nepali name. I was shocked by the translation.

It said “wetted”. And I knew it was wrong. No utensil could have been named wetted in English. So, I left the website and googled the names of utensils used for cooking. I redirected myself to Wikipedia. The list of utensils was surprising; and I went through the list and found two possible solutions. I had to confirm them.

Before I had entered Wikipedia, I had tweeted the question. Because my Tweets are linked to my Facebook, I expected to get answers on Facebook as well. I did get the answer from Suraj Nepal, who was a batch senior in my school. His answer confirmed what I had guessed.

Diuri (दिउरी) in English is called saucepan.

It’s not that the utensil cannot be used to prepare sauce and pickles but if you have to prepare tea, what word for the utensil would be the most suitable? A tea-pot!

[P.S.: I have joined the Google Translate Community and I’m contributing the words I can translate. It’s fun and challenging at the same time.
But I am still wondering if there is just a single word in English for “diuri”.
Also, this post has not been sponsored either by Google Translate or any cookware company.]

4 thoughts on “Translation Fun

  1. That utensil would certainly be a saucepan in English. A teapot would be a different thing, because we make tea in the west by boiling water (usually in a kettle) and then pouring it onto the tea leaves. The only time that I can think of that we would use a saucepan for tea, would be if we were going to actually make chai.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

