Great Power, Greater Responsibilities

“I am not so sure. I had proven, as a very young man, that power was my weakness and my temptation. It is a curious thing, Harry, but perhaps those who are best suited to power are those who have never sought it. Those who, like you, have leadership thrust upon them, and take up the mantle because they must, and find to their own surprise that they wear it well.”                                                                                      (Albus Dumbledore in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows  by JK Rowling)

I had never thought of Harry Potter series as the one which consists of a sense of revolution at the core. When I had read it two years ago, I had forgotten to notice this and the last chapters of the last book had been lame to me. Now when I read it two years later, I see that Lord Voldemort was neither as powerful nor as clever as that mentioned in the earlier books of the series.

The series contains in its core the struggle for power. Where on this world there is no struggle for power? There are people, who to invoke fear among others, destroy the lives of thousands. They are feared all over and they overpower those who live. Such tyrants never get any respect. And among those who hate them, comes out a leader, who encourages the others to fight.

Harry Potter is one such leader, whose destiny had been changed by the murder of his parents. Voldemort- a tyrant and a fool, who had always seen people begging to him for their lives and kills everyone on his way for the fun of it, was affected by the willingness of Harry’s parents to die instead of their child. The boy unknowingly gets pulled into the struggle since.

The above quote is an important to understand the core of the series. It also carries the question of morality. How many humans have understood that having power might make them corrupt – that they are not worth it? Very few people had understood that. Mahatma Gandhi, for instance and in our case, Ganesh Maan Singh were able to understand the corrupting nature of the power they had to hold. We always think that they could have done better as the heads of each of their countries, but they understood somehow that they were not worth the power they would have. They believed that good leaders are those to whom leadership is thrusted, not those who go and seek for it.

Albus Dumbledore, once he realized that he would not do well with power, confined himself, helping the revolution against the power-seekers – Grindelwald and Voldemort. The above quote also reminds me of another character in the series, who evolves on his own into a leader- Neville Longbottom. He could have suffered the same fate as Harry, and could have been the hero in the story or would not have existed at all. By the end of the series, he gets the recognition as a leader of revolution against Voldemort. Not only that, he becomes worth of the Gryffindor’s sword- previously used by Harry and Ron Weasley – and destroys Nagini- the last horcrux.

The search for an able, worthy leader goes on in the real world, though. And one in a million, we can find such a leader. One who has the power over all, with a lot of respect and also with sense of responsibility towards all is the leader we want for the world. Even more for our Nepal. We need the one who understands these words quoted by Ben Parker to his nephew, Peter (Spiderman):

With great powers, come great responsibilities.

18 thoughts on “Great Power, Greater Responsibilities

  1. Pingback: It’s almost been a month! | Blogging 101: Alumni

  2. Loved your post!! I love the Harry Potter series!!!
    I have written about Dumbledore too,not as well as you..but I tried.He is a wise man Dumbledore 😉
    You may not like Minister.But you cannot deny.Dumbledore’s got style! 😀
    LOLL…:P

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the comment!
      When I read the quote, I immediately realised that it was the core of the series. I just wrote what I felt. It matches somehow with the failed leadership in my country as well. There was no way I could avoid the urge to write it.

      Sandeept

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s a nice post. I have just watched films and not read books still I liked reading your post. The quotes are lovely and your examples make the point clear. I have shared this post on social media.

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Anand!
      Books are much better than the movies in terms of describing characters like Dumbledore. Yet, I see that some scenes are better executed in the movies. In fact, I had read the series to understand the movies and I do understand them better now.

      Sandeept

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

